Commonwealth Writers is delighted to announce the regional winners for this year’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize. The five outstanding stories were successful in a year of fierce competition when the Prize received a record 6,000 entries from across the Commonwealth.
Commonwealth Writers has partnered again with Granta magazine to give regional winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize the opportunity to be published by Granta online.
The stories will be published on every Tuesday from 30 May until 27 June, in order from East to West across the Commonwealth:
‘The Death of Margaret Roe’, Nat Newman – 30 May
‘Drawing Lessons’, Anushka Jasraj – 6 June
‘Who is Like God’, Akwaeke Emezi – 13 June
‘The Naming of Moths’, Tracy Fells – 20 June
‘The Sweet Sop’, Ingrid Persaud – 27 June
The overall winner will be announced in Singapore on Friday 30 June.