The African Speculative Fiction Society holds the Nommo Awards to celebrate the year’s greatest speculative fiction written by African authors. The AFSF has just announced this year’s short list for Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, and Best Graphic Novel, chosen from eligible works published in 2015 or 2016.

Best Novel

  • Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood
  • Azotus, The Kingdom by Shadreck Chikoti
  • Blackass by A. Igoni Barrett
  • Rosewater by Tade Thompson
  • Taty Went West by Nikhil Singh

Best Novella

  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Flying Man of Stone by Dilman Dila
  • Hell Freezes Over by Mame Bougouma Diene
  • The Last Pantheon by Tade Thompson and Nick Wood
  • Ta O’Reva by Muthi Nhlema

Best Short Story

  • “The Marriage Plot” by Tendai Huchu
  • “Ndakusuwa” by Blaize Kaye
  • “Sundown” by Innocent Immaculate Acan
  • “Wednesday’s Story” by Wole Talabi
  • “Who Will Greet You At Home” by Lesley Nneka Arimah

Best Graphic Novel

  • Avonome by Xavier Ighorodje & Stanley Obende
  • The Corpse Exhibition by Chronic no. 3 Various writers and artists ed. Ntone Edjabe
  • June 12 by Ibrahim Ganiyu, Chike Newman Nwankwo & Akinwade Ayodeji Akinola
  • Might of Guardian Prime by Jide Martin & Toheeb Deen Ipaye

Congratulations to all the nominees!

You can find more information on the NOMMO Awards here.