my longlist 2016.png

The longlist for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature which is awarded annually to the best debut African fiction has been released with 6 of the authors being South Africans and the other three being Nigerian and one of them (Jowhor Ile, author of And After Many Days)will our guest author on this week’s Classic FM #BookOnReview with Benjamin and BM.

Congratulations to Julie Iromuanya (Nigerian) — Mr. and Mrs. Doctor, Mohale Mashigo  (South Africa) — The Yearning,  Nakhane Toure (South Africa) — Piggy Boy’s Blues, Jen Thorpe (South Africa) — The Peculiars, Elnathan John (Nigeria) —  on a Tuesday, Jowhor Ile (Nigeria) — And After Many Days, Andrew Miller (South Africa) — Dub Steps, Jacqui L’Ange (South Africa) — The Seed Thief, Unathi Magubeni (South Africa) — Nwezelenga: The Star Child

We await the shortlist of three authors which the judging panel, comprising Nigerian novelist and poet, Helon Habila (Chair), South African writer/activist Elinor Sisulu and Ivorian writer and Africa39 laureate Edwige Rene Dro, now has the task of selecting and unveiling in December.

May the best book win!