Foremost Nigerian’s publishing house, Quramo Publishing has announced the longlist of 15 entries for the 2020 edition of the annual Quramo Writers’ Prize which is in its 4th year.

The prize, which has become a fixture on Nigeria’s culture calendar and arbiter of taste for Nigerian literature, is awarded annually to an unpublished fiction manuscript by an unpublished author.

Past winners include Samuel Monye, the inaugural winner, (QWP 2017 winner) for his manuscript Give Us Each Day; Emmanuel Michael, (QWP 2018 winner) for his manuscript “Running Waters” and Vivian Onyekachi Ibe (QWP 2018 winner) for her manuscript, ‘What Dreams Are Made Of’.


The longlist of 15 is made up of – Hotel Room Murder by Chioma.M.Okonkwo; The Way And The Will by Raji Surajudeen; Unchained by Adeniyi Timilehin Ayoade; Of Orchids And New Songs by Anjola Ogunsanwo; The Daughter Of Clerambault by Saheed Olayinka Bello;  Stakes by Feargod Okeke; The Paths That Take Us by Aliyu Baba-Ari; Sunshower by Kadiri Alex; Denizens Of The Wild by Chikezie Collins Onwumere; Who Kills A Baby Bird by Elnathan Iyalekhue; Butterflies Will Come by Chukwuemeka Famous; Tides That Bind by David Adu; Chukwu Is A She by Oni Oluwaseyi Faith; Caged by Adepeju Adeniran Afolake; Summerdale by Alo Folakemi Temitope.


The winner QWP 2020 will be unveiled at the prize giving event on Sunday October 4, 2020.