Twelve titles have been longlisted for the 2020 Glass Bell Award. The Goldsboro Books Glass Bell prize celebrates the best storytelling across contemporary fiction.

Launched in 2017, the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award is awarded annually to an outstanding work of contemporary fiction, rewarding quality storytelling in any genre. The winner of the Glass Bell will receive £2,000 in prize money, and a handmade, engraved glass bell. The jury of ten consists of team members from Goldsboro Books, DHH Literary Agency and The Dome Press. There is no fee, or limit to the number of books that a publisher may submit, allowing both established and debut authors a chance to win. Previous winners are Chris Cleave, for Everyone Brave is Forgiven (Sceptre), John Boyne for The Heart’s Invisible Furies (Transworld) and Christina Dalcher for VOX (HQ).

Bernardine Evaristo’s Girl, Woman, Other and Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut My Sister the Serial Killer are both on the longlist – their latest literary nominations. Both were longlisted for the Booker, ultimately won by Evaristo (jointly with Margaret Atwood) and both have been shortlisted for a British Book Award. In addition, both have been shortlisted for the Women’s Prize, although in different years.

Big congratulations to everyone on the list!

Credit: GoldsBoro Books

At @thebagusng we pride ourselves on being Africa’s Foremost Literary Hub as we serve up literary goodies everyday.