Credit: Fungai Machirori

The 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize judging panel is chaired by multi-awardwinning @kamilashamsie along with the phenomenal Zukiswa Wanner, novelist and short-story writer @mraozing,  professor, novelist and short-story writer @jakerback, editor and writer, @josswriterj and award-winning playwright, screenwriter and professor Vilsoni Hereniko. The international judging panel comprises a judge from each of the five regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

Each year the judges select five winning writers who share a total prize money of £15,000. The overall winner receives £5,000, one of the highest amounts for an international short story prize open to unpublished writers. Regional winners receive £2,500.

Click here to read judges profiles