The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world’s most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016 is chaired by Amanda Foreman. The judges are: Jon Day, Abdulrazak Gurnah, David Harsent and Olivia Williams.

The longlist is announced on 27 July while the shortlist will be out on 13 September.

The winner ceremony will take place at London’s Guildhall on 25 October.

Find out more about the judges here